PORTLAND, Ore. – Portland Thorns FC will open the 2014 National Women’s Soccer League season on Saturday, April 12, against expansion side Houston Dash at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas, it was announced today with the release of the team’s full, 24-game regular-season schedule.

Defending-NWSL champion Thorns FC, which opens the season with back-to-back road games, will square off against FC Kansas City on Saturday, April 26, in the home opener at JELD-WEN Field; kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. (Pacific).

Thorns FC will play 12 home matches and 12 away matches during the five-month season, presented by Providence Health & Services. The nine-team league features a single table, and Thorns FC will play an unbalanced schedule; hosting FC Kansas City, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC and the Western New York Flash twice at home. Portland must travel twice to face Boston, Chicago, Houston and Washington.

Thorns FC season tickets start at $10 per game and are on-sale now. Lower level and general admission seats are still available. Fans interested in purchasing Thorns FC season tickets are encouraged to call the ticket office at (503) 553-5555 or email ticketsales@timbers.com. Single-game ticket information will be released at a later time.

Highlighting the Thorns FC schedule are two home matches against the Western New York Flash on Wednesday, May 21, and Saturday, June 7, at JELD-WEN Field. The games represent a rematch of the 2013 NWSL Championship, in which Thorns FC captured the league’s inaugural title with a 2-0 win over Western New York. Portland is scheduled to face Pacific Northwest foe Seattle Reign FC twice at JELD-WEN Field. The two clubs square off on Saturday, May 10, and Sunday, Aug. 17, in Portland’s regular-season finale.

Thorns FC will play host to the Chicago Red Stars in a special day match on Friday, July 4; kickoff is scheduled for 11 a.m. (Pacific). Also scheduled is one weekend back-to-back pairing with the Portland Timbers. Thorns FC play host to Seattle Reign FC on Saturday, May 10, followed by the Timbers squaring off against the LA Galaxy on Sunday, May 11, at JELD-WEN Field.

The regular season will conclude the weekend of Aug. 17 with the top four teams qualifying for the NWSL playoffs.

Thorns FC is scheduled to open training camp on March 10.

Schedule Breakdown:

Home Dates by Day of the Week:
Wednesday (2), Friday (1), Saturday (4), Sunday (5)
Road Dates by Day of the Week:
Wednesday (4), Thursday (1), Saturday (5), Sunday (2)

Home Dates by Month:
April (1), May (3), June (3), July (3), August (2) 
Road Dates by Month:
April (2), May (3), June (2), July (4), August (1)

League Opponents Played Twice at Home:
FC Kansas City, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Western New York Flash

League  Opponents Played Twice Away:
Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, Washington Spirit

League Opponents Played Once at Home: 
Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, Washington Spirit

League Opponents Played Once Away: 
FC Kansas City, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Western New York Flash

2014 Portland Thorns FC Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

Date

Opponent

Kickoff (Pacific)

Venue

Saturday, April 12

@Houston Dash

5 p.m.

BBVA Compass Stadium

Saturday, April 19

@Sky Blue FC

4 p.m.

Yurcak Field

Saturday, April 26

FC KANSAS CITY

7 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Saturday, May 3

@Western New York Flash

4 p.m.

Sahlen’s Stadium

Saturday, May 10

SEATTLE REIGN FC

7 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Wednesday, May 14

@Houston Dash

5 p.m. 

BBVA Compass Stadium

Wednesday, May 21

WESTERN NEW YORK FLASH

7 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Saturday, May 24

SKY BLUE FC

7 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Wednesday, May 28

@Boston Breakers

4 p.m.

Harvard Stadium

Saturday, June 7

WESTERN NEW YORK FLASH

7 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Sunday, June 15

WASHINGTON SPIRIT

2 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Saturday, June 21

@Washington Spirit

3:30 p.m.

Maryland SoccerPlex

Wednesday, June 25

SKY BLUE FC

7 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Saturday, June 28

@FC Kansas City

5 p.m.

Verizon Wireless Field at Durwood Stadium

Friday, July 4

CHICAGO RED STARS

11 a.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Wednesday, July 9

@Chicago Red Stars

5 p.m.

Benedictine University Sports Complex

Sunday, July 13

FC KANSAS CITY

2 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Thursday, July 17

@Chicago Red Stars

5 p.m.

Benedictine University Sports Complex

Sunday, July 20

BOSTON BREAKERS

2 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Wednesday, July 23

@Washington Spirit

4 p.m.

Maryland SoccerPlex

Sunday, July 27

@Seattle Reign FC

4 p.m.

Memorial Stadium

Sunday, Aug. 3

HOUSTON DASH

2 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field

Sunday, Aug. 10

@Boston Breakers

3:30 p.m.

Harvard Stadium

Sunday, Aug. 17

SEATTLE REIGN FC

2 p.m.

JELD-WEN Field